The 2020 NTT IndyCar Series is going to be the 25th period of this IndyCar Series as well as the 99th official championship period of American open wheel racing. The premier event are the 2020 Indianapolis 500. Honda will go into as the protecting Manufacturers’ Cup winner for the second successive season. It’ll be the initial year of this Penske management as soon as they took over in late 2019.

Series information

On May 24, 2019, it had been declared that IndyCar Series will program to present cockpit protection combining an Aeroscreen as well as also the Halo employed in Formula 1 out of 2020 season . The cockpit protection is going to be constructed by Red Bull Advanced Technologies at a collaborative effort using Dallara. The combo of both aeroscreen and halo was made to enhance safety criteria by deflecting debris from a driver’s head and has been initially developed to be used in Formula One and IndyCar prior to its application has been enlarged into other open-wheel championships.
On November 3, 2019, it had been declared the Team Penske proprietor Roger Penske had bought the Indianapolis Motor Speedway and IndyCar for a racing match. Penske also announced he’ll step down as fulltime race strategist. On January 6, 2020, IndyCar declared the transactions were officially complete. Penske formally becomes the fourth largest owner in Indianapolis Motor Speedway’s history and marks the first time because 1945 where possession of the Speedway has changed hands.

Contracted drivers and teams

The next drivers and teams are declared to compete at the 2020 NTT IndyCar Series season.

Team changes

Formula One group McLaren Racing declared on August 1, 2019 it’d combine the series at 2020 in partnership with Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports below the title Arrow McLaren Racing SP. The group will field two fulltime entrances. As a consequence of McLaren venture, the group formally agreed to finish its own engine associate bargain with Honda to permit Chevrolet to provide Schmidt Peterson Motorsports staff because it had been declared on August 9, 2019. On October 25, 2019, the joint venture unveiled a brand new logo and supported the group’s title as Arrow McLaren SP. While 2019 motorist Ben Hanley had been tipped to return, the December statement didn’t affirm any motorists. On January 13, 2020, it had been declared that Hanley would push for DragonSpeed in the very first round in St. Petersburg.

On September 21, 2019 it had been declared that Andretti Autosport would subject a fifth entrance for Colton Herta below the title Andretti Harding Steinbrenner Autosport, partnering with Mike Harding and George Michael Steinbrenner IV of this formerly independent group Harding Steinbrenner Racing. The group retained its own Honda energy and entered a technical partnership with Andretti Technologies after two years Coping with Schmidt Peterson Motorsports.

On January 7, 2020, Dreyer & Reinbold Racing shown to RACER they would be expanding into a 4-race app in 2020. Team owner Dennis Reinbold disclosed that Sage Karam will be back with the group in 2020, but didn’t specify the amount of rounds, or that rounds, Karam will be inputting. On January 10, 2020, in a meeting with IndyStar, Reinbold explained that Karam will be driving their vehicle in the rounds in St. Petersburg, Indianapolis, and Toronto.

Driver changes

On October 8, 2019 Chip Ganassi Racing declared that Marcus Ericsson will join the group, leaving Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports to drive the restored No. 8 car from 2020. Hinchcliffe will stay under contract, under which he will be asked to be with the staff on race weekends and earn host looks, but is free to pursue additional opportunities.

On November 15, 2019, Ed Carpenter Racing declared that Spencer Pigot Wouldn’t be returning to the group in 2020. On November 20, ECR declared Rinus VeeKay was signed up to drive the No. 21 full time.

On November 22, 2019, it had been declared that Sébastien Bourdais wouldn’t go back to Dale Coyne Racing using Vasser-Sullivan because of new demand for financing. The Identical day, Bourdais affirmed his departure from the IndyCar Series after registering to push for JDC-Miller Motorsports from the 2020 WeatherTech SportsCar Championship. On January 23, 2020, the staff declared that Santino Ferrucci, that drove the No. 19 car for Dale Coyne Racing at 2019, would change into the Vasser-Sullivan-supported No. 18 entrance to substitute Bourdais.

On December 9, 2019, Ed Carpenter Racing declared that Conor Daly would rival the street and road circuit races from the group’s No. 20 entrance with exemptions in the United States Air Force, also could pilot a third entrance for the group from the Indianapolis 500. He replenishes Ed Jones, who’ll drive for Audi Sport Team WRT at the 2020 DTM year .

On January 22, 2020, A. J. Foyt Enterprises termed Charlie Kimball the motorist of the No. 4 entry, marking his return on fulltime rival after running a tight schedule for Carlin at 2019. He’ll race at the five oblong events at the No. 14 to get A. J. Foyt Enterprises. Kellett will even drive the group’s third entry in the Indianapolis 500.

On February 5, 2020, Team Penske verified that defending Supercars winner Scott McLaughlin will make his IndyCar introduction in the GMR Grand Prix on the Indianapolis street Program. Hélio Castroneves, that drove a fourth Penske automobile at both Indianapolis races at 2018 and 2019, will just race at the 2020 Indianapolis 500 for Penske.


All races have been coated on the radio from the Advance Auto Parts IndyCar Radio Network.